Who we are & what we do

Town and parish councils are the first level of local government and are made up of democratically elected representatives. They provide communities with a democratic voice and a structure for taking community action.

Sprotbrough and Cusworth Parish Council has 17 councillors who are re-elected every 4 years. Further information on each Parish Councillor and how to contact them can be found on the Councillors web page.

The next scheduled Parish Council elections are due to take place on 6th May 2021.

The Parish Council owns and manages several assets within the Parish;

In addition the Parish Council activities include;

  • commenting on planning applications within the parish.
  • providing community grants to support local groups.
  • the production of a Neighbourhood Plan for Sprotbrough.
  • production of a Parish Newsletter.
  • liaising with relevant authorities regarding infrastructure /policing/community issues to represent your views and get the best advantage for the local area.
  • engaging with all interested parties regarding current and future shape of life in the local area.

The Parish Council produce an Action Plan each year which sets out the activities of the Parish Council each year. This can be downloaded below.

Parish Council meetings

Further information relating to Parish Council meetings can be found on the Council Meetings web page.

Committees and working groups

Performance, Review and Staffing Committee

The Performance, Review and Staffing Committee consider all matters that concern the performance of the Parish Council or it`s employees.

Chairman - Cllr Tony Rawlings

Vice chairman - Cllr Angela Curtis

Representatives; Cllr Cynthia Ransome, Cllr David McMullan, Cllr Kevin Rodgers

Further details on the agenda and minutes for this committee can be found on the council meetings page.

Brodsworth and Sprotbrough Joint Management Committee

The committee manages Scawsby Community Centre on behalf of both Parish Councils;

Vice Chair - Cllr Tony Rawlings

Members - Cllr Pat Haith, Cllr Judith Rodgers, Cllr Tony Nicholson, Cllr David McMullan

The minutes for this committee can be found on the council meetings page.

Working groups

There are two working groups;

Representatives on outside groups

The following Councillors represent the Parish Council on outside groups/ bodies;

Contact the Parish Council

Contact details for the Parish Council office and officers.